Terms of the 1900 Buganda Agreement

The key terms of the agreement were on land, finance, boundaries and system of government.


  • Land was to be divided into Mailo land (Freehold) and Crown land.
  • Mailo land was to be given to the Kabaka, his family members and the chiefs.
  • The Kabaka was to get 350 square miles, princes 22 square miles, the queen mother 10 square miles and the Saza chiefs 8 square miles each.
  • Each of them was to receive a free land title to confirm ownership.
  • Peasants settling on this land had to pay rent (Busuulu) to the land lords.
  • Crown land was to be given to the protectorate government for public projects.
  • Crown land was to include, uncultivated lands, forests, lakes, swamps and rocky areas.
  • People who settled on this land were not to pay Busuulu or rent.


  • All men of 18 years and above were to pay a hut tax of rupees.
  • These taxes were to be collected by the local chiefs.
  • No more taxes would be introduced without the approval of the Lukiiko and the consent of the Kabaka.
  • Revenue from the taxes was to be for the protectorate government and not the Kabaka.
  • The collection of tributes from neighbouring states was to be stopped forthwith.
  • All chiefs in Buganda including the Kabaka were to be paid a salary
  • The Kabaka was to get 1,500 pounds while the Saza chiefs were to receive 20 pounds every year.
  • All natural resources had to be in the hands of the protectorate government.
  • The growing cash crops was to be encouraged by the protectorate government.


  • Buganda was to be one of the provinces that make up Uganda.
  • The institution of Kabakaship was to be retained and reformed.
  • The Kabaka was to be the supreme ruler of Buganda and was to be given an additional title “His Highness”.
  • Daudi Chwa II to be formally recognized as the Kabaka of Buganda and kingship was to be limited to Muteesa’s lineage.
  • The Kabaka was to be assisted by three regents namely the Katikiro (Prime minister), Omulamuzi (Chief Justice) and Omuwanika (Treasurer).
  • The Lukiiko was to have parliamentary powers and was to remain the highest court of appeal.
  • Membership to the Lukiiko was to be fixed at 89. These included 60 notables, 20 Saza chiefs, 3 ministers and 6 Kabaka’s nominees.
  • Buganda’s laws were to remain in force as long as they did not conflict with those of the protectorate government.
  • All cases involving foreigners was to be handled by the protectorate government.
  • All African courts were not to give death penalties.
  • The Kabaka was not to form an army without the consent of the protectorate government.


  • Buganda’s boundaries were to be redefined to include the two counties of Buyaga and Bugangayizi.
  • Buganda was to be divided into twenty counties, each under a Saza (County) Chief.
  • Each county was to be divided into a number of counties depending on the size and population of each under its own chief.
  • The protectorate government had the right to abrogate the government.